
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

In Supreme Court 

FILE NO. 

OFFICE OF 
APPELL4TE COURTS 

Petition of the Minnesota State Board of 
Continuing Legal Education 
For Amendment of the 
Rules of the Supreme Court 
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TO: THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT: 

Petitioner, the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

("Board"), respectfully petitions the Court to amend Rule 2 of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration in order to decrease the allocation to the 

Board In support of this Petition, the Board asserts the following: 

1. The Supreme Court has the exclusive and inherent power to regulate the 

practice of law 

2. Since 2001, the Board has collected a $35 course approval fee for each 

course' submitted for CLE approval. 

3 Revenue generated from the course approval fee has averaged just over 

$200,000 per year during the past 4 years, thereby reducing the Board's need 

for the full amount of revenue it receives currently from the Lawyer 

Registration Fee. The Board proposes to reduce its Lawyer Registration fee 

allocation by $2, from $8 to $6 per lawyer"?, effective January 1, 2008 

1 A fee is not required for video replays of previously approved courses and for courses of 60 
minutes or less in duration Rule 4A(7). 

For lawyers on Active Status-Full-time Military Duty, the proposed reduction is from $7 to $5 



4 The proposed amendments to Lawyer Registration Rule 2 incorporating both 

this Petition's request for a reduction in allocation as well as the Board of Law 

Examiners' Petition for an increase in the allocation, are set forth in an 

attachment marked Exhibit A. 

CONCLUSION 

By these proposed amendments, the Board seeks to amend the Lawyer 

Registration Rules to decrease the Board's allocation from the Lawyer 

Registration Fee. 

Based upon the foregoing, the Board respectfully requests that the Court 

adopt the proposed amended Rules set forth in Exhibit A. 
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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION 

*** 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

A. Required Fee. 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission 

to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering 

continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund 

legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer 

and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee. 

B. Active Statuses. 

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of or such 

lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections. 

1. Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross 

income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year 

must pay an annual registration fee of W$196. 

2. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty. 

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States must 

pay an annual registration fee of Wm. 
3. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty - Income Less Than 

$25,000. 

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who 

certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the 

income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an amual registration fee of 

W$85" 



4. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 

in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an annual 

registration fee of W m .  

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years - Income 

Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 

in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that the 

lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 

less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $84&%=. 

C. Inactive Statuses. 

1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State. 

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, 

(iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of 

law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of Wm. 
2. Inactive Status - Out-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer dr judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date tlie lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is 

a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, 

(iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law 

in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all 

sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 

annual registration fee of WW. 



3. Inactive Status - Minnesota. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state must pay an annual 

registration fee of W$l&. 

4. Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000. 

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the 

State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in 

this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (v) certifies that the 

lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 

less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of W$157. 

*** 

D. Allocation of Fees. 

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule: 

(1) Payments of $Z8$221 are allocated as follows: 

* M$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

* @& to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

* $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; . $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

* $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

. $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(2) Payments of $3%= are allocated as follows: 

m $X3$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

@& to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 



o $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

e $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$25 to tlie Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(3) Payments o f  $AR$lJQ are allocated as follows: 

M $%= to the State Board o f  Law Examiners; 

$$& to the State Board o f  Continuing Legal Education; 

o $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$12 to the Client Security Fund; 

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

M $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(4) Payments o f  Wm are allocated as follows: 

o W$23 to tlie State Board o f  Law Examiners; 

o $$& to tlie State Board o f  Continuing Legal Education; 

M $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

a $12 to tlie Client Security Fund; 

o $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

o $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(5) Payments o f  $N?$110 are allocated as follows: 

$%= to the State Board o f  Law Examiners; 

to the State Board o f  Continuing Legal Education; 

. $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsil>ility Board; 

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 



o $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(6) Payments of W$.@ are allocated as follows: 

$%9;23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

e $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(7) Payments of W$100 are allocated as follows: 

e $%9;23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

a @&5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

e $12 to the Client Security Fund; 

o $25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

e $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 

(8) Payments of are allocated as follows: 

0 W$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 

o $&&5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 

$12 to the Client Security Fund; 

o $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and 

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance 

program. 


